Green Orchids, Green Beers, and KISS?

Hello readers!!

It is Friday again!! Where did the week go?? What have you been doing? Well March Madness is underway; spring is definitely in the air here in Vegas. I am stocking up on my neon and sunscreen. Let the pool weather begin!

First of all I want to give a shout out to the super awesome rock n’ roll Hotter than Hell KISS wedding chapel that opened yesterday. The stunning bride carried a bouquet of red ranunculus, red tulips, mango calla lilies, pincushion protea, yellow roses, and yellow cymbidium orchids. It was totally rocked out with black wire accents and KISS guitar picks. Lady Demon’s bouquet was made of black and white roses! Brilliant!! The day was fantastic! Natasha and David were total rockstars. The members of KISS stood as witnesses for their vows and numerous celebs walked down the black carpet for the big day. We had so much fun working with everyone at Monster Mini Golf. Also a huge shout out to the confectionary geniuses at Gimme Some Sugar for their AMAZING KISS themed wedding cake. Now that the Hotter than Hell chapel is up and running, I’m sure it will be a popular wedding destination! Not too mention the totally awesome neon experience that is KISS Mini Golf!! For more updates from the event check out KISS Online.

And now for this week’s vendor spotlight… The fabulous, talented, and adorable Juliet Douglas of Green Orchid Events  was an easy choice. If you haven’t browsed Green Orchid’s portfolio, check it out here . Juliet takes a vision and creates an experience, always exceeding expectations by working tirelessly for her clients. Whether hanging out with her twin, being a super mom, or rocking the Vegas event world she is always ready to go! Below are Juliet’s answers to the weekly questionnaire.

1) Name: Juliet Douglas

2) Company: Green Orchid Events 

3) How many years in business? 5 years

4) When you were 10 years old, what did you want to be when you grew up? Oddly enough, I didn’t even think about it. I started to think about wanting to become a singer when I was a teenager.

5) One TV show you never miss? I no longer have cable so we watch everything on Netflix or Hulu. I’m currently obsessed with Glee. It took some convincing but now it brings me back to my high school show choir days. I also love Parenthood and Dexter.

6) What is something most brides do not know before they come and meet with you? That I have a twin sister. Who is also my next door neighbor.

7) Favorite restaurant in Vegas? I can’t pick just one. I love trying new restaurants. The Verandah at the Four Seasons is one of my favorites. I love Country Club at the Wynn. I also love Firefly for a casual and fun setting.

8) Best part of your job? When I get to work with a couple who truly enjoys the planning process with me. I also love
seeing everything come together on the wedding day and experiencing the couple’s reaction as they see the room for the first time.

9) How many years have you lived in Vegas? 18 years

10)                  Something you would love to learn how to do? Make authentic Chinese food well. I would also love to learn how to make Thai food.

11)                  When not at the Thomas and Mack Center, what is your favorite place in town to catch a Rebel game? My sister has a little home theater. If I can’t be at the Thomas and Mack  Center and watch it in person, I’d rather be in the comfort of my sister’s home.

12)                  What was more challenging, planning your wedding or planning a wedding for a client?  They both have different challenges. With my own wedding, I knew what we were able to realistically spend on our entire wedding and had to cut so many guests out of our list.  Planning for a client presents some different challenges because I have to educate them on the costs of everything and sometimes I have to be the bad guy and tell them they can’t afford fireworks because they’ve spent their entire budget on food and beverage, floral, and a live band. Educating clients on the real costs of planning a wedding is probably the most challenging. So many have “Champagne dreams on a beer budget”.

13)                  Favorite step in the event planning process? Food tasting and selecting the menu and discussing options for live entertainment.

14)                  What do you miss most about San Francisco? And where do you go in Sin City for a taste of home?  I miss some of the restaurants, the sounds of the cable cars, and the cool mom and pop shops and restaurants that are easily accessible by foot. Honestly, I can’t think of anything that can give me a taste of San Francisco. I have yet to dine at Michael Mina’s Nobhill  at MGM but maybe that would remind me of San Francisco. Nobody does sourdough bread quite likeSan Francisco though so thankfully we’re only a short flight away.

I want to thank Juliet for answering my questions, as well as letting us all learn a little bit more about her world.

Prince Charles, Camilla, and I wish you all a very happy St. Patrick’s Day filled with green beer, corned beef, cabbage, soda bread, whiskey, and other green things!  Have a fabulous weekend. I’ll check in next week!

3 thoughts on “Green Orchids, Green Beers, and KISS?

  1. greenorchidevents says:

    Thanks for the awesome feature! I loved these questions! Keep up the great blogging work!

  2. Teresa Meli says:

    So fantastic again!

  3. Homepage says:

    Enjoyed reading this, really excellent stuff, appreciate it. 627189

Leave a Reply

