Vendor Spotlight: J. Anne Photography

We are starting vendor spotlights on our blog, to show off some of  our fabulous friends and to show you how talented they are! We are starting with the brilliant, hilarious, and totally adorable Jodi of J. Anne photography. The fairies had the pleasure of being stationed next to her at the Bridal Spectacular this past weekend. She is fun and witty, and I can totally see why brides would choose her! Her photos are fun, fresh, romantic, and whimsical. You can tell she is  a woman who loves what she does! Check out her super cool and clever website here, which is just what you would expect from her. So for our vendor spotlight we have a set series of 10 questions, followed by 1 or 2 more that are special for that vendor.

Here is our mini-questionnaire as answered by the fantastic Jodi Anne of J. Anne Photography:

1) Name: Jodi Anne Inouye
2) Company: j.anne photography ( Check out her amazing work here on her blog)
3) How many years in business?
Officially in bid-ness about three years.  Officially in the wedding business about one year.
4) When you were 10 years old, what did you want to be when you grew up?
 This is so embarrassing, but I would tell people that I wanted to be a pediatric cardiologist.  I was a complete smarty pants and just wanted to sound like I knew what I was talking about.  I’m jealous of my friend, Crystal, who used to tell everybody that she wanted to be the greeter at Wal-Mart when she grew up.  Now that’s a cool gig.  🙂
5) One TV show you never miss?
Omg.  Hardest question on here… for reals.  The one show that I probably watch in “real tv time” is Project Runway — and maybe Design Star on HGTV.  My DVR is always brimming with tv saucy-ness.  I’m an admitted reality TV junkie; therefore, shows on the must see list are Real Housewives (all jurisdictions); Teen Mom; Dance Moms; Hoarders; Intervention; Scared Straight; Real World Road Rules Challenge (my husband will be mad at me… but he loves this one too!!)… Don’t count me out of the sitcom world though… I love Modern Family; Up All Night; Awkward; etc…etc…etc.
Now I sound like a total TV junkie!  In my defense, most of these shows are playing in the background as I go about my day and/or my last hour at night is spent cuddling with the hubs and catching up on the tube.
6) What is something most brides do not know before they come and meet with you?
Probably that I talk really fast, clap rapidly, and sometimes squeal when I get excited about something.  I absolutely adore photography, obvi, but photography is also a vessel that I use to express my love for several things in life.  I love love love design, of all kinds.  I love love love fashion (duh!).  Photographing weddings, styled shoots, and sometimes even families allows me to meld all of these loves.
My husband will vouch for this as his house gets redecorated at least once every six months… his wardrobe is constantly being scrutinized by his stylist… and the amount of photos in our house is kind of… well, obnoxious.
7) Favorite restaurant in Vegas?
 I’m so… not a foodie.  If you were to ask what my favorite food is I’d probably say double stuffed oreos, macaroni and cheese, or a good turkey sandwich.  So, obviously, my choice for favorite restaurant isn’t as much about the food as it is about the vibe.  Vintner Grill in Summerlin is one of my favorite restaurants because it is the epitome of my style.  The food is delish too, but I spend my night imagining a bride and groom out on their patio, lit by the lanterns hanging from the trees as I photograph their intimate embraces with their guests… gazing at the perfectly distressed black and white hardwood floors… obsessing over the white decor with pops of green… and the mix of contemporary and traditional elements.  Hello, perfection!
8) Best part of your job?  
Hands down.  The clients.  They become my friends.
9) How many years have you lived in Vegas?
 I moved to Las Vegas in 2001 during my sophmore year of college.  I met my husband-to-be just a couple months into the school year, and we’ve been together and in Vegas ever since.  So, this August will be 11 years.
10)  Something you would love to learn how to do?
 Cook.  Give me a recipe and I can handle myself in the kitchen, but I’d like to really know how to cook.  How to gaze into my pantry, see ingredients, and just make a meal.  My husband is a lover of the foods.  His idea of a fun night is to cook together.  I want to share this with him, but my ignorance in the kitchen hinders his idea of date-night.  For now, I just sit on the counter and entertain him with all of my witty banter and humor while he cooks for us… ha ha ha!!  🙂
11)  Favorite Real Housewife and why?
Oh no… so hard… but I’ll have to go with…
New York Alumni — Bethenny Frankel is my girl.  She is witty, humorous, and straight forward.  Love her.  She invents alcoholic beverages for heavens sake… somebody give that girl a Nobel Prize!!  Plus, who isn’t a fan of somebody who despises Jill??
12)  How does one deal with the barking of a basset hound and maintaining 2 and soon to be 3 sleeping little boys? Are you supermom?  
Supermom, I am not… but my life has surely been blessed with two (soon to be three) healthy children; two dogs; and a madly handsome and supportive husband.  In “supermom world” there are a lot of balls in the air… most of the time the ones that I let drop are the ones that my husband jumps right in to pick back up.  Laundry piles up… dishes take up real estate on the kitchen counter… and take out is ordered way more than Rocco Dispirito could ever handle… but at the end of the day I cuddle up into bed to watch a brilliantly executed reality TV show and I know that my kids are healthy, my husband loves me, and everything in that moment… is perfect.
So isn’t it obvious why we totally LOVE Jodi! Here are some of the amazing photos she took for us at the Bridal Spectacular as just a preview of how amazing her work is. Be sure to check out her website and her blog for more details
Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Vendor Spotlight: J. Anne Photography

  1. jodi says:

    awwwww… lovey lovey… shi shi shi!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

